My Favourite Pubs in Wolverhampton 🍺

Given the relative success of My Favourite Pubs in London series, I’ve decided to expand to a couple of other places where I’ve lived. First up it’s my hometown of Wolverhampton, so which pubs would I recommend?

The Moreton Arms (2 Springfield Lane, WV10 6PX)

Image result for the moreton arms

My parent’s local, the Moreton is a lovely pub located near Junction 2 of the M54. I walked past it every day on my way from school as a kid and now every time I’m home for the weekend, we tend to go down the Moreton in the evening. It’s got a good choice of beers, including the local favourites Banks Mild and Banks Bitter, which are brewed in the city. The food is also very well priced and there’s a good choice of small plates. It’s also the pub where the local Labour Party will go after canvassing.

Hogshead (186 Stafford Street, WV1 1NA)

Image result for hogshead wolverhampton

The scene of many nights out with the boys, Hogs is found in the city centre. Excellent choice of beers and multiple screens to watch live sports and is a great place to watch the Wolves games as well, with fans giving it a proper atmosphere. Not a huge fan of a TV screen in each booth, which is what Hogs did in their last refurb. Plus I’m pretty sure my Dad used to work the door there years ago.

The Great Western (Corn Hill, WV10 0DG)

Image result for the great western wolverhampton

A proper pub tucked away a short walk from Wolverhampton train station. It’s got a great choice of real ale, including several local tipples. Also, make sure you have some local pork scratchings. The place is crammed full of railway memorabilia from across the years and it makes it a real railway pub. It’s definitely the place to go for a pint before you catch your train.

Royal London (4-6 Wulfruna Street, WV1 1LX)

Image result for royal london wolverhampton

The student pub in Wolverhampton. Located opposite Hogshead, it was one of the first pubs I frequented when I started going up town. I used to start my Saturday nights in here, queuing up stuff on the jukebox which I wouldn’t get to hear before heading to Cuban or Numa Bar for shots before heading to Blast Off, the best indie night out in the world. Happy Days! I also used to drink Strawberry Cider in here (not sure I could get away with that now!) but the pub is also good for watching sports and has been known to have a DJ in there on some nights.

The Giffard Arms (64 Victoria Street, WV1 3NX)

Image result for the giffard arms wolverhampton

My Dad’s old haunt. The Giffard is the heavy metal pub in the town, playing all the classics. The building dates from the Tudors and the pub has been on this site since 1922. From the goths to the bikers, they all frequent here for a pint. It’s certainly one of the most interesting pubs in the city.

The Moon Under Water (53-55 Lichfield Street, WV1 1EQ)

Image result for the moon under water wolverhampton

Spoons time. Wolverhampton’s Wetherspoons is the source of some excitement as the National Wetherspoon’s Museum is due to open here. The current pub will be doubled in size, taking in the derelict O’Neill’s Bar next door and turning the upper floors into a hotel, which is handy given it’s around the corner from the train station. A good place to go for cheap pints, and lads have made it our spot for Christmas drinks the past few years. There’s also a random old bloke who dresses up as Elvis in here every Saturday. Sure…

The Fieldhouse (Perton Road, WV6 8DP)

Image result for the fieldhouse wolverhampton

Next up is The Fieldhouse. My parent’s old local and the pub where I used to work behind the bar, it’s a lovely, cosy and hidden away near Wightwick Manor close to the border with Staffordshire. They make a great choice of food and you’re always going to receive a warm welcome from the owners Kate and Gareth. Would recommend taking an afternoon out from town to visit the manor followed by a pint in The Fieldhouse.

The Lych Gate Tavern (44 Queen Square, WV1 1TX)

The Lych Gate Tavern | Black Country Ales

Home of Black Country Ales, the Lych Gate is surprisingly new, only opening in 2012. However, the building has parts dating back to the 1500s, giving it a very traditional feel. With a great choice of beers and a warm welcome, this pub is easily one of the best and probably the best real ale pub in the city centre. It was also where Boris Johnson was photographed during the 2019 general election campaign. You’ll probably find me in here before a Wolves game when the pub becomes rammed. I just have to remember to watch my head on those beams!

Hail to the Ale (2 Pendeford Avenue, Claregate, WV6 9EF)

Hail To The Ale, Wolverhampton - Birmingham Live

Opened in 2013, Hail to the Ale is the West Midlands’ first micropub. It’s the winner of multiple CAMRA awards and is found in a converted shop in suburban Wolverhampton. The owners also brew their own beer as the Morton Brewery, which is delicious. Being a micropub there is also no music, with a focus on good beer and conversation. Worth heading out of the centre to go and visit here. If you also bring your own containers you can take their beers and ciders away to drink at home.

So that’s it. A run-through of some of my favourite pubs in Wolverhampton. I hope you enjoyed reading, next stop, Nottingham.

JP

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Pubs in Wolverhampton 🍺”

Leave a comment